PDA

View Full Version : playing back up games what do i need



dexodd
11-10-2007, 21:07
Hi i have heard i can play back up games for the ds lite but not sure exactly what i need. Can anyone help as im off to buy ds tomorrow and was hoping to get more games going on it thanks alot for any help.

plasterer
11-10-2007, 22:34
You need a usb transflash
Also a micro sd card
You can put it all together for about 35 quid
Any games you need i have here for free .................Paul
LOOK HERE
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.1459

plasterer
12-10-2007, 00:28
Any body got any requests for ds games ,Lets know ...........Paul ;) ;) ;)

dexodd
12-10-2007, 18:57
thanks alot for help gonna sort all stuff i need then get myself some games ;D

plasterer
12-10-2007, 19:42
Keep us informed mate ...........Paul ;)

stevenalis
27-10-2007, 16:52
Well paul after mastering my dbbox I have now moved onto seven year old daughter's Xmas Prezzy. I understand you need need a memory card but will any card (as long as it it slots into DS) work? I ahve been offered a DS Firec Card 8Gb.

Plugs into machine and runs so the blurb says.

Anyway, if the answer to that is Yes am I right in saying the NDS Roms are not massive files? Downloaded a couple and they aren't large eg. between 65,000 and 120,000 MB. Compared to Wii games and PC Games these seem very small?

Cheers as ever.

plasterer
28-10-2007, 13:28
This is the card i am using in mine
http://www.consoleup.com/shop/Console/Super-Card/SuperCard-DS-One-Slot-1-Solution-Nintendo-DS/?gclid=CK_YpKbXsY8CFRoGEgod9QIXOg
But this does not include the 1 gig
micro sd card
ican get up to 15 to 20 games on this card
the games are tiny.And available anywere
Any you need give us a shout.........Paul :) :) :)

stevenalis
28-10-2007, 17:33
Thanks for that.

I have purchased the attached card with 24 games on it! As I read the blurb you just cut and paste them onto the machine. The games all seem under 130MB. Makes a change to Wii and Psp games

http://www.consoleplus.co.uk/product_info.php?pName=ds-fire-link-slot-1-for-ds-and-ds-lite-8gb

dexodd
28-10-2007, 17:46
Thanks for all your advice i picked myself R4 from computer fair today and got my ds playing back up games didnt realise it is so easy to get it working thought i would have problems getting them to work. Also got 2gb micro sd card and got about 40 games onto it maybe could squeeze a few more on just need to leave space for saving games dont i.

plasterer
28-10-2007, 18:50
Nice to see peeps getting up and running
So simple to load games
And so small makes it so easy
Unlike the psp.............Paul :) :) :)

[Chris B]
29-10-2007, 13:14
Picked up a DS at the weekend and ordered an R4 from Console up last night. 8)

plasterer
29-10-2007, 16:15
Good Luck mate keep us informed............Paul ;)

leeb1977
29-10-2007, 16:18
although you dont actually need luck - im pretty sure a 10 year old could suss it.....





























*that said paul had to undertake 6 months of research before he cracked it.... tam is still trying ;) ;) ;)

plasterer
29-10-2007, 19:03
But i still cant play the games .......Paul :D :D :D

leeb1977
30-10-2007, 08:49
lol ;D

TaM2oo5
31-10-2007, 14:31
LOL , can someone write me a guide ??? im baffled where to switch the ds on :-[

leeb1977
31-10-2007, 14:43
you switch it on where ever your standing mate - thats why its portable ;) :P

plasterer
31-10-2007, 14:57
Keep them in the joke section Leeb ............Paul :D

leeb1977
31-10-2007, 15:26
cant help it mate - sarcastic nature always gets me into trouble!!! ;D

[Chris B]
01-11-2007, 18:30
Is it possible to use the ds browswer without the memory expansion and if not does anybody know where I could get one?

plasterer
01-11-2007, 18:38
Have a look in here mate .................Paul ;)
http://ph.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20070615101445AAUZDbn

[Chris B]
01-11-2007, 19:24
Ta much.

kenkin
25-01-2008, 14:43
Plasterer
I have ordered R4 Card Kit from deal extreme.
Can you let me know what I need to do when I get the Kit please
I am new to all this so forgive me if the questions i ask sound stupie

plasterer
25-01-2008, 15:21
When you get the Kit give us a shout
And ile Help you sort it out ............Paul ;)

kenkin
25-01-2008, 19:53
Will do.
Thanks Paul

kenkin
31-01-2008, 12:46
As I said I ordered the kit last week.
Have been told by deal extreme that they wont have it
until at earliest mid february.
Anyone know who has the kit in stock

pickle
31-01-2008, 13:11
send a pm to dbox nick he has some for sale bought one from him last week top bloke he even put some games on it i plugged it in and away it went :)

bazeze
12-02-2008, 11:17
how do i use Web bowser on DS Lite

ManofScience
19-11-2008, 09:37
Paul my old matey - is this still all relevant? i got a DS for missus last christmas so i thougth i'd eventually splash out and get some downloaded games

leeb1977
19-11-2008, 10:32
yeah its still relevant - although its worth looking at the consolebits section for decent deals on cards etc.....

keasy
13-06-2009, 18:37
Looking for help on this guys.


Just bought 2 DS Lite second hand for the kids.

Is all I do order one of these R4ds cards or will the R4dsi work too ?

I take it you just plug it in to the game cartridge slot, bung a SD card with homebrew/backups and away ye go ?

Would appreciate any help before I order any equipment.
Was thinking of this...
http://www.gamesbackup.co.uk/products/R4%252dIII-SDHC-MicroSD%252dTF-Card-Multimedia-Adapter-for-NDS%7B47%7DDS-Lite.html

wiz569
13-06-2009, 19:36
Yep just drag and drop the firmware and then whatever games you want to the card,
Have a look at consolebits website his stuff is much cheaper then the link you showed plus he is trustworthy ;)

http://www.techno-source.co.uk/Forum121/showthread.php?t=39712

keasy
14-06-2009, 14:01
Helpful as always.

:)

Thanx added Wiz.

keasy
20-06-2009, 09:49
Just ordered x2 R4 Ultras from Consolebits :)

Now for another stupid question...

Does it matter what region I use ?

Will USA region titles work on the R4 or do I have to stick to EU specific titles ?

keasy
23-06-2009, 21:31
The answer is yes, US region works on EU with R4 ;)

Brilliant service from Bits online shop btw.

Carts cost 10 quid each and that included standard postage which arrived the next day for me. Well I say next day but what I mean is next weekday working day. I ordered my x2 revs on Friday night and the were processed monday morning and arrived Tuesday morning.
Fantabulous.
All the stabndard packaging came with it flat packed, nice touch, I built the boxes up and placed the cart inside with some BU's on. Let my kid hunt for it and he gfound it all packaged and new looking...brill, saves on costs that way.

This ain;t a criticism btw just for refrence, there was no instruction Cd included, maybe a just an over look but the packaging states it is included. It should only be an instruction PDF afaik, but I grabbed a quick easy one from internets anyway, then some FW too.
At this price, who cares if a downloadable in 10 secs pdf and FW file is there ? I don't ;)


Nice one ConsoleBits.

Now then, when are you going to start a 360 FW upgrade by post service ? I'd go for it LOL :)

keasy
23-06-2009, 22:08
PS. I'm a wittle dwunk ATM :D

consolebits
24-06-2009, 10:40
Thanks for the comments mate and glad you got your order ok.

The R4 instruction cd is no longer shipped with the cards for a couple of reasons, the it included the firmware and that changes quite often so it disk was out of date quickly and then the manufactures thought that if they shipped the card without telling people what to do with it that nintendo would leave them alone :rofl:

Its been like this for quite a while now guess they never got round to changing the boxes.

The flat packing came about cause i had a few people complaining that the boxes were getting crushed in the post.

As for 360 upgrades gave up on that a long time ago.

May start again though who knows

:thx:

gavshell800
31-01-2011, 20:27
I was asked to day how to set up a R4 card for my mate who got one for his kids to use but hes never touched a pc in his life. Ive never tried one of these myself so i said i would give it a go for him. Do i need to istall the R4 DS V1.18 kernel to the card before you copy the games over. Any info would be appreciated.

Thank ya. Gav

bigballblue
31-01-2011, 20:50
copy over all config files then create a games folder and copy games to that , thats all i done with my daughters , think its an r4 gold she has

gavshell800
31-01-2011, 21:31
Cheers mate. Im getting the card & ds tommorow so i will give it a go and report back.